Just a quick note about a WEB DESIGN PROJECT SCAM:

Hey all, just spreading the word to my designer friends. Received a weird text message this weekend regarding a website redesign. Details of the email are below. Please always do your due diligence when working with clients online.

A simple google search of key elements of the email I received confirmed my suspicions. What surprised me is that I even received a text from this person.

Text Received from 303-999-5798 Paul Fowler. He indicates he is hearing impaired, which didn’t alarm me as much as the immediate question as to whether I can take credit cards or not. Most clients leave bill payment to the absolute end of the conversation with regard to web design projects.

The WEB DESIGN PROJECT SCAM email I received was:

Here is the job details

I have small scale business which i want to turn into large scale business now it located in TN and the company is based on importing and exporting of Agriculture products such as Kola Nut, Gacillia Nut and Cocoa so i need a best of the best layout design for it. Can you handle that for me ?. so i need you to check out this site but i need something more perfect than this if its possible. http://www.agroamerica.com.… the site would only be informational, so i need you to give me an estimate based on the site i gave you to check out, the estimate should include hosting and i want the same page as the site i gave you to check out and i have a private project consultant, he has the text content and the logos for the site.
1. I want the same number of pages with the example site i gave you to check excluding videos and blogs.
2. I want only English language
3. I don’t have a domain yet but i want the domain name as topfarmproduce.com
4. you will be updating the site for me.
5. I will be proving the images, logos and content for the site.
6. I want the site up and running before ending of next month.
7. My budget is $4,500 to $7,000

Kindly get back to me with an estimate okay.

Best Regards
Paul Fowler.

Some others same experience.

2 replies
  1. www.scamwarners.com
    www.scamwarners.com says:

    It is a classic Nigerian scam
    It is all a script being texted/emailed to you by a bunch of Nigerian men (btw there is NO law in Nigeria against any of this…scamming drives the economy over there…also we have ZERO jurisdiction there…the FBI/police etc can do nothing to help anyone) ….If you had been foolhardy enough to go ahead with it, they would have a given you credit card information to charge, it would have most likely gone through just fine. When the funds were deposited into your account the scammer would than ask if you could please pay his “graphic designer” “project manager” or some other service employee on his behalf out of the funds he sent you (remember he sent “extra”
    So you would go ahead blindy and send the money to this “company” (usually same guy) by western union, moneygram, or a bank deposit. As soon as that was done they are Gone….you will never hear from the person again. Though you WILL be hearing from your card processing company when there is a massive chargeback (because of course he gave you stolen credit card info) and very possibly you would be hearing from the police as well for charging a stolen credit card

    The best things to do are this
    #1 POST …Post this information (the letters/emails/names/phone #s) ANYWHERE you can so that potential victims can find it if they google the name

    #2 NEVER inform the scammer about HOW you know its a scam. NEVER tell them about scam post sites…all it does is EDUCATE them and make them into better scammers

    #3 Pick one…either delete&ignore or BAIT

    For baiting see http://www.419eater.com

    for more info on this and many other scams, as well as a help forum, o to scamwarners.com

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply